Author Topic: Modders get help making new Techtrees and Factions  (Read 1219 times)

softcoder

  • MegaGlest Team
  • Battle Machine
  • ********
  • Posts: 2,238
    • View Profile
Modders get help making new Techtrees and Factions
« on: 30 July 2010, 14:54:22 »
Starting with the next version of Mega-Glest (Initial Code already in SVN) we will allow you to run with a special command line parameter to validation your techtrees for known mis-configurations. Example shown below:

Code: [Select]
./glest.bin --validate-techtrees

Checking techPath [techs] techName [megapack] factionsList.size() = 6
Found faction [egypt]
Found faction [indian]
Found faction [magic]
Found faction [norsemen]
Found faction [persian]
Found faction [tech]

Errors were detected:
=====================
The Unit [archer] in Faction [norsemen] has the command [hold_position]
which has upgrade requirement [training_field] but there are no units able to perform the upgrade!
The Unit [crossbow] in Faction [norsemen] has the command [hold_position]
which has upgrade requirement [training_field] but there are no units able to perform the upgrade!
The Unit [flyingvalkyrie] in Faction [norsemen] has the command [hold_position]
which has upgrade requirement [training_field] but there are no units able to perform the upgrade!
The Unit [spearman] in Faction [norsemen] has the command [hold_position]
which has upgrade requirement [training_field] but there are no units able to perform the upgrade!
The Unit [spearman_berzerk] in Faction [norsemen] has the command [hold_position]
which has upgrade requirement [training_field] but there are no units able to perform the upgrade!
The Unit [swordman] in Faction [norsemen] has the command [hold_position]
which has upgrade requirement [training_field] but there are no units able to perform the upgrade!
The Unit [swordman_berzerk] in Faction [norsemen] has the command [hold_position]
which has upgrade requirement [training_field] but there are no units able to perform the upgrade!
The Upgrade Type [training_field] in Faction [norsemen] has no Unit able to produce this upgrade in this faction!
=====================

Checking resources, count = 6
Found techtree resource [energy]
Found techtree resource [food]
Found techtree resource [gold]
Found techtree resource [housing]
Found techtree resource [stone]
Found techtree resource [wood]

Checking techPath [mydata/techs] techName [game_12] factionsList.size() = 6
Found faction [PC]
Found faction [britan]
Found faction [martians]
Found faction [moon]
Found faction [persian]
Found faction [romans]

Errors were detected:
=====================
The Unit [led] in Faction [PC] has no other units that can produce, build or morph into it in this faction!
The Unit [fallen_capsule] in Faction [martians] has no other units that can produce, build or morph into it in this faction!
The Upgrade Type [advanced_architecture] in Faction [romans] has no Unit able to produce this upgrade in this faction!
=====================

Checking resources, count = 11
Found techtree resource [detirium]
Found techtree resource [energy]
Found techtree resource [fish]
Found techtree resource [food]
Found techtree resource [gold]
Found techtree resource [housing]
Found techtree resource [hp]
Found techtree resource [memory]
Found techtree resource [stone]
Found techtree resource [water]
Found techtree resource [wood]

AND when the XML is bad....

******************************************************
    #2 An error ocurred and Glest will close.
Error msg = [Error loading Faction Types: techs/megapack
Error loading units: techs/megapack/factions/tech
Error loading UnitType: techs/megapack/factions/tech/units/blacksmith/blacksmith.xml
The string "castleX" contains a character that is not allowed: "X"
For portability reasons the only allowed characters in this field are: abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz1234567890._-/]

Please report this bug to contact_game@glest.org, attaching the generated glestv3.3.5.1-alpha3.dmp file.
******************************************************


These validations will grow over time to look for things we discover as known bad entires in the XML files.
« Last Edit: 30 July 2010, 18:24:08 by softcoder »

John.d.h

  • Moderator
  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 3,757
  • I have to go now. My planet needs me.
    • View Profile
Re: Modders get help making new Techtrees and Factions
« Reply #1 on: 30 July 2010, 16:25:55 »
Cool! :thumbup:

-Archmage-

  • Moderator
  • Dragon
  • ********
  • Posts: 5,887
  • Make it so.
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Re: Modders get help making new Techtrees and Factions
« Reply #2 on: 30 July 2010, 18:09:40 »


Romans is definitely going to be a MegaGlest mod! :D
Egypt Remastered!

Proof: Owner of glest@mail.com

ultifd

  • Airship
  • ********
  • Posts: 4,443
  • The Glest Video Guy :) The one and only. :P
    • View Profile
    • My Youtube Channel
Re: Modders get help making new Techtrees and Factions
« Reply #3 on: 30 July 2010, 18:53:49 »
Thanks softcoder, this will be helpful for modders.  :thumbup:

But for Norsemen, we should not forget to tell titi about the Norsemen faction, since it was only temporarily fixed...
Because why should other factions, almost all, have to have the training field upgrade but Norsemen does not...a temp fix is OK and good but not if it can be actually fixed...